Self Taught....have Fondant Questions!

Decorating By FH_Cakes Updated 21 Sep 2009 , 1:45pm by Babygrlny

FH_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FH_Cakes Posted 18 Sep 2009 , 1:43pm
post #1 of 21

So I have done a handful of cakes with Fondant, and so far I have to say it is a pain in the A$$ to roll it out....I think I am doing something wrong. I can start out with a small ball or a large ball and I seem to always be stuck around 12" around. Is it my technique, my roller, what am I doing wrong????

What is the trick to rolling fondant easily?

20 replies
momg9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momg9 Posted 18 Sep 2009 , 1:53pm
post #2 of 21

Do you roll it out on a mat? I find that if I don't have enough shortening spread on the mat it won't roll easily. Also rolling from the middle out helps me to get an even thickness.

dsilvest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilvest Posted 18 Sep 2009 , 2:10pm
post #3 of 21

Make sure you knead it really well before you start rolling it out. Kneading makes the fondant more elastic.

I just roll it out on my island countertop and use just a bit of ps. Make sure that you rotate it a quarter turn occasionaly. Add more ps if it is starting to stick.

Make sure you form the ball into a disc shape. Flat on top and rounded sides if you are rolling out for a circular cake. If square, I start with a flat square shape.

HamSquad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HamSquad Posted 18 Sep 2009 , 2:19pm
post #4 of 21

I find rolling out fondant very difficult too! I was thinking about trying a PVC pipe. I saw this on a youtube video. I use shortening on a silicon mat. I was thinking it was my wooden rolling pin causing the problem. I don't make enough fondant cake to merrit buying a sheeter(can't afford). I feel it takes forever to roll and cover cakes with fondant.
Hammy

G_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
G_Cakes Posted 18 Sep 2009 , 2:36pm
post #5 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by HamSquad