Cake Mix

Decorating By LalaTx Updated 17 Sep 2009 , 5:48am by Mokehanali

LalaTx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LalaTx Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 3:07am
post #1 of 7

Hi, I am new here. And I am new at baking cakes.

I want to own my bakery shop some day. I will have to go back to school for certification and all after I give birth to my first child.

I have a question about cake mix. Do you guys use cake mix from the store like Phillsbury & Betty Crocker or do you guys make cake from scratch? Which is the best?

I want to make my first cake for my sister's birthday. I want to make strawberry cakes. I just need your opinion since you guys have better knowledge than I do.

Thank you and I appreciate it. icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
crisseyann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crisseyann Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 3:21am
post #2 of 7

You will get many replies to this inquiry. Many people prefer scratch baking, many prefer commercial mixes, and many prefer to "doctor up" their cake mixes with additional ingredients. It really is a personal preference. There is no one method better than the other. A lot of the time, it is what we are brought up with and used to eating. Trial and error will come into play when deciding which method works best for you.

sandygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sandygirl Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 3:22am
post #3 of 7

My, my this is a topic of much debate here at CC. Everyone has their own ideas and preferences on this subject.

Personally, I use doctored cake mixes. You start with a cake mix and then add ingredients to it. The cake doctor is a great source for these kind of recipes. I only hobby bake, so it's not an issue for me.

Congratulations on the baby and welcome to CC

minerva16 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
minerva16 Posted 17 Sep 2009 , 3:34am
post #4 of 7