Oooops, Did I Bake Too Soon?

Decorating By Mug-a-Bug Updated 16 Sep 2009 , 3:09am by JCE62108

Mug-a-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mug-a-Bug Posted 16 Sep 2009 , 2:17am
post #1 of 6

I'm working on my second paid cake job. It's for a 3 teired cake 8",6",4" and two other 8" cakes; all BC. The cake will be picked up on Saturday afternoon. I wanted to give myself plenty of time to work on all of them (I'm new at this and have a clingy one-year old with a cold). I baked, filled, and crumbcoated the two 8 inch cakes this evening and now reading other posts I'm worried that I've gotten started too soon. I was planning on letting them sit out on the counter but now I'm wondering if I should put them in the fridge at least until I ice them tomorrow?? icon_confused.gif I thought 4-5 days was okay but now I'm scared my cakes will taste "old". Help icon_cry.gif

5 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 16 Sep 2009 , 2:27am
post #2 of 6

The cakes need to go into the freezer at this point, not the refrigerator. What's the filling?

Mug-a-Bug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mug-a-Bug Posted 16 Sep 2009 , 2:39am
post #3 of 6

Filling is just buttercream. Should I wrap them somehow??? Thanks for your help.

cupcakeco Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakeco Posted 16 Sep 2009 , 2:42am
post #4 of 6

I agree definitely wrap VERY well and freeze them. Take them out of the freezer to defrost (but leave saran ON) the night before you plan to decorate to (ie before you go to bed on Thurs if you plan to decorate all day Fri) and you'll be good to go.

Also... if they're wrapped well enough it won't affect the taste. I froze cupcakes this way around valentines day... baked a week ahead then cooled and froze/defrosted.. mainly because there was a zillion other things goin on but it works out really fine.

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 16 Sep 2009 , 2:47am
post #5 of 6