Finally Legal...

Business By 2winboyz Updated 28 Sep 2009 , 3:18pm by cakesweetiecake

2winboyz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2winboyz Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 9:01pm
post #1 of 15

I have been decorating cakes as a hobby for a couple of years and make a cake every month for family and close friends. When I started getting orders from friends of friends, I started thinking I should look into becoming legal since in VA (I'm in NoVa) I can work out of my kitchen. Well, it finally has happened and I passed my inspection this past Friday! I am very excited, it was far easier than I ever thought. Wish I had done it sooner. Now that kids are back in school, I can work on advertising. One of the things I am struggling with is pricing. My portfolio is small and I am having a hard time justifying to myself my cost icon_sad.gif Hubby thinks I am going to underprice. For instance, I made this Minnie Mouse cake this past weekend and charged $100 and I delivered! LOL 6" and 10" white cakes with strawberry filling. Was it reasonable? How much would you have charged? I am using the Wilton serving chart so this serves ~ 50 and mentioned to the customer that they would be about 1"x2" pieces. I even printed out the cutting guide for her so she knew how to get 50 pieces. Here's the cake, I was inspired by some pictures on CC and she requested this specific design:

Quote:
Quote:

LL

14 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 9:25pm
post #2 of 15

Congrats on getting licensed!! And what an adorable cake! I think you probably should have charged at least $150.

tracycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tracycakes Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 9:49pm
post #3 of 15

According to my calculations for that size cake, the bow on top and delivery charge, close to $170 + tax.

Edited to include: Congratulations! You did a beautiful job on the cake!

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 9:56pm
post #4 of 15