Cracked Cake And Sticky Mmf....

Decorating By ashrunn Updated 16 Sep 2009 , 3:01pm by ashrunn

ashrunn Posted 14 Sep 2009 , 7:38am
post #1 of 8

I'm very new to this, so all tips are welcome!
For my dad's birthday, I made him the famous hamburger cake. The "meat" and the top "bun" both cracked in half beyond repair, which made the everything else slide down with it. It still looked good from the front! I used extra moist cake mix, could that have been my problem? Also, I made MMF for the "vegetables" and they ended up looking great, but I feel like it was a lot harder than it should have been. I couldn't roll the fondant out completely flat because it was so sticky and it was all stuck to my hands; big mess. I used crisco, what else should I have done?

7 replies
brincess_b Posted 15 Sep 2009 , 10:49am
post #2 of 8

if its a very soft cake, it needs very careful handling. if it was a tall cake, you might have wanted to use a support system as well.

did your mmf turn out the way it was supposed too? if it was as the recipe describes when you started working with it, maybe too much crisco got added in, or you overworked it (some people prefer to roll out on ps, corn flour or a mat.
xx

ashrunn Posted 16 Sep 2009 , 3:40am
post #3 of 8

So, is it not a good thing to use super moist cakes for shaping? What are the best kinds to use? I'm not sure if the mmf turned out right...I definitely could never imagine covering a whole cake with it, so I'm going to say no. Do you have any amazingly-awesome-never-fail mmf recipes? icon_smile.gif

xstitcher Posted 16 Sep 2009 , 3:51am
post #4 of 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashrunn

So, is it not a good thing to use super moist cakes for shaping? What are the best kinds to use? I'm not sure if the mmf turned out right...I definitely could never imagine covering a whole cake with it, so I'm going to say no. Do you have any amazingly-awesome-never-fail mmf recipes? icon_smile.gif