Donating Cakes?

Decorating By CakeyThings Updated 14 Sep 2009 , 5:04pm by cownsj

CakeyThings Posted 13 Sep 2009 , 2:35am
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone,
I'm just starting out with cake decorating. I moved to FL for a job and I really have no family or friends close by. I really love baking and I decided that instead of letting all the cakes i did in my decorating class go to waste i should give them to someone who really wants them.
I am making a cake and decorating it in class on Monday but I'm travelling on Tuesday and did not want to let the cake waste.
I called a couple charities but they are closed. Last resort, I went to craigslist and offered the cake to anyone who can come pick it up from my class (Public place)
I got a lot of responses and I offered to donate my class cakes to a couple people for the rest of the month.
Is this not something I should do?
I'm reading the forums, and it seems like it may be illegal or at the very least frowned upon.....:S

8 replies
rharris524 Posted 13 Sep 2009 , 2:48am
post #2 of 9

I'm not 100% sure but I think that as long as you aren't selling them that they are yours to do with as you please...including giving them away

laceycakes Posted 13 Sep 2009 , 2:52am
post #3 of 9

Let me first say WELCOME to the most addictive website you will ever go on.

I have a different circumstance in my house. My husband loves that I decorate cakes but he doesn't really like to eat cake. So, one of the things I have done is gone to my bank and asked the ladies there is they would be my "guinea pigs". They were more than willing to volunteer. I also take them up to the school where my mother works. They love it when I bring on in. I have heard that other people donate them to foster group homes. You would have to check in your specific area on how to do that. Or you could take it over to the closest fire station. I'm sure they would love an occasion cake.

Just some ideas to think about. Hope they help.

lainvest64 Posted 13 Sep 2009 , 3:05am