Need Some Advice

Business By babareno Updated 13 Sep 2009 , 12:51am by madgeowens

babareno Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
babareno Posted 12 Sep 2009 , 1:04am
post #1 of 25

I am fairly new to decorating cakes and have only been doing this for about a year. A friend of mine asked me if I would make her mom's wedding cake and I said sure. She wanted a fake 4-tier multi shaped cake covered in fondant and then wanted 3 12x18 sheet cakes to feed her guests. For the sheet cakes, she wanted the cake scored for 54 slices with a black swirl on each piece.

For the tiered cake, she wanted black scrolls on the bottom and third tiers. For the second, a pink ribbon around the tier with white icing dots. The top tier she wanted rhinestones randomly put on around the tier. This was a simple cake but still took quite a bit of time to make. She provided the tiers, ribbon, and rhinestones. I bought the fondant.

I gave her a price of $70 each for the sheet cakes and $150 for the tiered cake. The $150 for the tiered cake comes from $75 for supplies (fondant and food coloring) and another $75 for labor. It took me 13 hours to make the cake. The total was $360.

She felt this pricing was too high and asked if I would reconsider the pricing. I explained how I came up with the price and told her I still felt that it was fair but would be willing to take 10% off of the price of the sheet cakes for a grand total of $340.

This all happened yesterday and her wedding is tomorrow. I have not heard from her at all and she has not confirmed a pick up time for the cakes in the morning. She had told me in her email that she was going to have a friend make the cakes originally but due to work hours was not sure if she would be able to, so she came to me. I am afraid since I have not heard from her that she has decided to have her friend make the cakes for her but decided not to tell me.