Feel Like A Total Failure

Decorating By buggus Updated 12 Sep 2009 , 12:21am by buggus

buggus Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 2:06am
post #1 of 16

Okay, so I'm feeling like a failure as I feel like I bit off more than I can chew.

An old friend of mine is getting married tomorrow. I agreed to do her cake for her. It's the biggest cake I've ever made, and 2 cakes layers have major damage. 1 completely cracked, and the other, one side just fell off when I tried to flip it. I'm so disappointed in myself. I got overzealous and thought this wouldn't be a big deal, but it is. I'm an experienced baker, but not with cakes of this size, and now I feel like an idiot for doing it.

It's over 10:00 p.m. where I am now and am baking the last layer for the last tier. I'm hoping and praying it comes out alright, as I don't know what I'm going to do.

How do you fix a cracked cake??

15 replies
JenniferMI Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 2:10am
post #2 of 16

I sincerely wish I could come and help you. Yes, making wedding cakes is a big deal, that's why we have to charge what we do....but, small cracks can be filled in with icing. I wish you only the VERY very best. Sending cake angels your way ((((hugs))))

buggus Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 2:16am
post #3 of 16

but what if one side, like a 1/4 of the cake has come right off?? Use icing to fix it? Or should I just bake another. The problem is, trying to flip over a 14 inch cake. I've never done it before, and clearly am not capable icon_cry.gif

dessert1st Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 2:17am
post #4 of 16

I feel so bad for you. I've been there - where you feel like you are doing something nice for someone & it all starts falling apart (this time, literally!). I had one crack before & just lined it up where it belonged and frosted it. You couldn't tell from the outside , and I figured once it was cut into pieces, you probably wouldn't be able to tell from the inside either! Never heard a word from anyone about it being cracked!