Cookie Icing Question, Help Please.

Baking By georgiapuddinpie Updated 16 Sep 2009 , 1:46am by georgiapuddinpie

georgiapuddinpie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
georgiapuddinpie Posted 10 Sep 2009 , 5:51pm
post #1 of 17

Hi
Okay, so a lady called me today and wants me to decorate teapot sugar cookies for a shower. I told her I have never done this before, but she insists (you would have to know her). Anyway, we agreed that she would make the cookies and I would decorate. She doesn't want the hard royal icing on top, says it messes up lipstick (again you would have to know her). She specifically suggested just using confectioners sugar mix with water. My question is will this work and will different colors bleed together? Is there a "soft icing" to use on cookies which wont get damaged easily? I am very nervous about this. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
TIA

16 replies
cinderspritzer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cinderspritzer Posted 10 Sep 2009 , 10:19pm
post #2 of 17

You should use Toba's glace. It hardens enough to stack but is soft inside when you bite it.

My question is mostly about how crazy she gets when eating cookies that it messes up her lipstick.... ?

PS and water MIGHT work but it would be super soft and powdery when it was done, and probably runs the risk of bleeding a lot more.

pbeckwith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbeckwith Posted 10 Sep 2009 , 10:36pm
post #3 of 17

I agree - use Toba's. It's the only one I use. On occasion I'll use royal icing for tiny decorations or scrolls.

georgiapuddinpie Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 12:01am
post #4 of 17

Thank you so much for your replies! I was wondering, do you use Toba's the same way you use royal to decorate the cookie? Basically I was planning to use the tutorial on here to try to do them.

pbeckwith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbeckwith Posted 11 Sep 2009 , 2:29pm
post #5 of 17