What Colors Do I Mix Together? Help!

Decorating By Chef_Joodles Updated 9 Sep 2009 , 4:56pm by Mensch

Chef_Joodles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chef_Joodles Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 4:07pm
post #1 of 10

Ok I'm seriously about to cry. (small vent here but there IS a question!) I'm pretty new to the cake business and have yet to grow a tougher skin and roll with the punches. Anyhow, I am doing a baby shower cake for a church (for free mind you) that is due this friday night, and I had everything all ready to go, and just now I got an email with the new baby shower colors and theme and all of my plans are now out the window!! No time for gumpaste this late. siiigh. I have three cakes due this weekend and no time for this!

Normally I wouldn't ask, as I don't like others to do my work for me, but I've researched and am at loss! I hope someone else has experience with this. My main question is the colors. How to I make "Sage Green, A little Goldish Yellow or Cream, and Deep Rasberry" ? I only have access to wilton colors at my michaels store, or maybe hobby lobby, as there is NO time to order anything online. Wilton's chart doesn't mention these colors.

I don't understand how this cake is supposed to look like a baby shower theme with these colors in the first place, but thats another whine, lol.

can anyone tell me what colors to mix at least as a starting point? I fear I may need a week refresher course in kindergarten! lol.

THANK YOU to anyone out there willing to take the time to help me!

9 replies
MrCake01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrCake01 Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 4:18pm
post #2 of 10

Chef_Joodles
I found a link for a color mixing chart. Looks like sage green is going to be lemon yellow and leaf green. I'm a little vage as to what color goldfish yellow is but on this chart it look like parts of red red, lemon yellow and orange. The deep raspberry looks like red red and purple with some black and i would say maybe should burgandy.
Goodluck,
Mrcake01