Where Did You Learn Your Cake Decorating Skills?

Decorating By kaddikakes Updated 10 Sep 2009 , 2:59pm by cylstrial

kaddikakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaddikakes Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 3:54pm
post #1 of 28

Hi all, I've been looking at this site for awhile now and am just AMAZED and the skills everyone has. Please share where you learned your skills. I'm just starting out and am reading different things, looking at different things but just don't know where to go to actually "learn". Thanks for your support.

27 replies
dnrlee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dnrlee Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 4:05pm
post #2 of 28

I took the Wilton classes at Michael's but I am addicted to this website and You Tube has a lot of awesome tutorials! In my opinion, you can get tips and tricks from here and YT that you won't get in the Wilton classesicon_smile.gif

Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 4:08pm
post #3 of 28

I'm self-taught!

ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 4:10pm
post #4 of 28

I've now been decorating on and off for about 12 years. I got more into it about 4-5 years ago when I took the Wilton classes at Hobby Lobby. Since then, I've taken one other class with Rebecca Sutterby. I loved the Wilton classes for the simple fact that they taught me the basics. I improved on the simple skills I had.

I also took ceramics in high school, which I absolutely LOVED. It's has helped me with some of the 3D work and painting I've done.

The rest has been from here, books, watching TV and good ol' fashioned trial and error!

Funny thing about me is that I can't draw if my life depended on it! And I have trouble mixing colors (color wheels are the best thing ever!). Yet, I'm a visual person and can usually express myself better on paper or in sculpture than I can any other way.

cutthecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutthecake Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 4:11pm
post #5 of 28