Frustrated

Decorating By SandiOh Updated 10 Sep 2009 , 11:11pm by SandiOh

SandiOh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandiOh Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 12:42pm
post #1 of 6

I am only a hobby baker, hoping for more someday...anyways, twice this month I have made really nice, time consuming cakes for friends...once, in exchange for a haircut, which never happened and second for a friend's son...she said she would pay me for ingredients, which I said she didn't have to as she is on disability leave.
My frustration is that on both cakes/cupcakes, I put alot of effort into...days of thought and hours of work....and my responses were basically a grunt.
I know I should be happy in just the giving, but am I wrong, especially since both were given away to expect a little more acknowledgement? I mean, I don't expect them to worship the ground I walk on, but how about "my son liked, or did not, like them"?
Sorry, venting...I thought maybe people here would understand, or at least slap me into reality.

5 replies
LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 12:55pm
post #2 of 6

Your not wrong for how you feel, but if you offer to do something, then do it cause you want and don't expect a huge thanks. Soemtimes you may get one, sometimes you may not. I know they seem a little ungrateful, but some people dont see cake as hard work...until they have to pay for it. Next time get your cost up front and don't barter unless you get the goods first.

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 9 Sep 2009 , 12:57pm
post #3 of 6