Do You Have To Be A Pastry Chef/chef To Wear A Chef's Coat?

Decorating By mom2spunkynbug Updated 9 Sep 2009 , 2:47am by mom2spunkynbug

mom2spunkynbug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mom2spunkynbug Posted 8 Sep 2009 , 3:38am
post #1 of 27

I am not a pastry chef, chef, nor did I go to pastry school. After taking the Wilton courses, I self-taught myself everything else & now I teach Wilton classes. I've also started my own (licensed) home-based business.

I'm thinking about the upcoming bridal shows in my area...and thinking about what to wear. (This will be my 3rd year.) First year I wore a suit (too formal)...last year I wore a skirt & sweater. This year I'm thinking of ordering a chef's coat & going in that & jeans/black slacks. Do I have a "right" to wear such a thing? Of course, I know I can wear whatever I want, but I don't want to be decieving (sp?). I did order the Wilton's chef's coat & wear that to classes only.

Thanks for any advice/opinions!

26 replies
kettlevalleygirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kettlevalleygirl Posted 8 Sep 2009 , 3:45am
post #2 of 27

I don't know about the "ethics" of wearing the coat, but I think that it looks professional, and presents a very nice image. Clean etc.
I am starting up my Wilton classes next week and will be wearing a chef's coat. I just think that street clothes are not as professional looking.
I don't have a diploma or an pastry chef school, just attended a lot of classes on cake decorating!

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 8 Sep 2009 , 3:48am
post #3 of 27

I don't think you have to have a diploma from a cooking school to wear a chef's coat. I wouldn't wear a toque, though (that's the tall, white hat). One thing to keep in mind is that those coats can be rather warm! Your other option is to get a high-quality apron with your company name/logo embroidered on the front and wear that.

chefjulie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefjulie Posted 8 Sep 2009 , 3:58am