About To Take The Plunge.....just Wondering .....

Business By Somethin-Sweet Updated 11 Sep 2009 , 11:38pm by zdebssweetsj

Somethin-Sweet Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 4:59am
post #1 of 24

if I've completely lost my mind!!! I currently have a full time job that I am about to quit and open my own cake shop!!!!......OMG- its all happening so fast! I have just passed my Serv Safe Certification, have the space rented, and am working on getting it ready..............I have been making cakes for about 10 years but over the last 2 or 3 have really grown it into a great part time business....I figured when I started turning down more cake orders in a week, than I make in an entire month at my job, then its time to take the plunge.

Anyway- just wondering if yall think I'm crazy for only wanting to do special order cakes, or should I have some generic cakes made for people to just pick up? I'm thinking of doing a cupcake flavor of the day- and maybe cake truffles........but its only going to be me for quite a while.......I really dont have the man power for to have a full fledged bakery, but I would like to have a few small things to drive traffic in......the town I live in is a small college town (15,000 people ) with only a donut shop and the local grocery store as an option for sweets.........what do yall think? Am I nuts?

23 replies
LaBellaFlor Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 5:04am
post #2 of 24

Get ready to grind and do what you can. It sounds like your business is about to take off and Congratulations!

Motta Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 5:32am
post #3 of 24

Congratulations!!!! This must be so very exciting for you.