Sam's But-R-Cream Frosting...

Decorating By Donnabugg Updated 15 Jan 2016 , 3:26am by craftybanana2

Donnabugg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Donnabugg Posted 5 Sep 2009 , 2:53am
post #1 of 13

I've been reading a lot on here about Sam's Butt-r-cream frosting and whether it works or not. I finally decided to try it! They only had the 5 gallon size bucket so I bought that. It was $30. It tasted very good in fact I gave my hubby and kids a blind taste test using that and the Wilton and they all chose the Sam's. My hubby said it wasn't as sweet which he liked about it. I would say the consistency it medium to a tad thinner than stiff. As far as crusting...well I will have to give you a follow up on that.
Being a newbie I hadn't considered that turning off my air and opening all the windows would effect the crusting. After realizing that and turning the air back on it started to crust. I am also using makeshift cake dummies so that may have effected it as well. I ordered real cake dummies so once I get those and use them (and keep the air on) I will give you a more definitive answer on the results. Just thought a few of you would like to know.... icon_smile.gif Hope this helps.

12 replies
jackfrost Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jackfrost Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 1:54am
post #2 of 13

I have been using it for about 2yrs and I love it. It isn't as sweet and it also crusts fine for me.

Donnabugg Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 4:24am
post #3 of 13

Sharon,
So far so good. I am very excited about being able to use because I HATE making the icing! lol

Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 7:16am
post #4 of 13

But-R-Cream sounds more like a hemerroid treatment than something edible!!

Donnabugg Posted 7 Sep 2009 , 4:03am
post #5 of 13

So funny you should say that...I accidently titled the original post BUTT-R-Cream and had to hurry and change it before anyone noticed!! Laughing my BUTT off! icon_biggrin.gif