Ballerina On Top Of Cake.

Decorating By cakewhiz Updated 4 Sep 2009 , 10:31pm by nancysmom

cakewhiz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakewhiz Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 3:47pm
post #1 of 6

Do any of you know how I might go about putting a ballerina on the top of a cake either sitting or standing? I am assuming made out of gumpaste....step by step instructions would be great as I am new to gumpaste and making figurines. Thank you.

5 replies
2SchnauzerLady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2SchnauzerLady Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 3:58pm
post #2 of 6

If you look through the galleries entering ballerina in the search bar - you will see cakes with them. PM the person who made the one you really like, and they will be able to help you. Welcome to cc. You have posted - so now you are addicted!

rainbow_kisses Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rainbow_kisses Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 5:26pm
post #3 of 6

my advise would be to watch and read as many modeling tutorials as you can icon_smile.gif it is easier to model a sitting person than a standing as it means that the legs are not taking any weight.

to model a ballerina i would start with the body in a coloured modeling paste depending on what coulour you want the top part of the body. model the arms and legs and position and dry befor gluing to body. finaly model the head and neck as one piece and leave to dry. when the parts are almost dry glue together using sugar glue. and make a tutu to wrap around the waist. add hair and paint on details when the whole model is dry. dont forget to paint on the ballet shoes and ribbons.

HTH

rainbow_kisses Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rainbow_kisses Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 5:27pm
post #4 of 6

my advise would be to watch and read as many modeling tutorials as you can icon_smile.gif it is easier to model a sitting person than a standing as it means that the legs are not taking any weight.