I Feel Like I'm Losing It... Ahh.... The Drama

Business By CakeInfatuation Updated 5 Sep 2009 , 9:27pm by mommyle

CakeInfatuation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeInfatuation Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 3:11pm
post #1 of 17

I just don't know what to do... I feel like I'm losing it. It's CAKE!!! Just CAKE!!! And yet I want to curl up in a ball and cry...

I thought it might be pms... but... I checked the calendar. I'm plain old losing my mind!

I started decorating last year as most of you know. I'm still learning some things and of course that disastrous kind of stuff that you only learn by experience... I have done lots of cakes from home and have been building a pretty nice reputation. That reputation took me from the thought of getting my license and opening my own place to a job at a local bakery. I thought it was the perfect job. The best situation. Only 1 or 2 days a week... prep work at home... ability to adjust my schedule to fit my family...

I really thought it was a dream come true. I don't have to pay for the variance... licensing... or deal with the paperwork.

BUT I lost a lot of control. I no longer have contact with customers to guide them in the best direction for a design or to even help them customize the cake they are envisioning. I can't tell them that mousse can't be used with their design because their design can't be refrigerated. I can't tell them that fondant will actually be better for their cake because that design would actually take longer with buttercream and end up costing more in hours...

The shop is using my blog that I've had set up since a year ago March to sell cakes. They sell my design. Then change it and I'm supposed to move fast enough to make them money while fighting with the cake to do something that would have been so much faster and easier with fondant.