Decorating Timeline & Storage

Decorating By montanamommy Updated 4 Sep 2009 , 11:39pm by indydebi

montanamommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
montanamommy Posted 3 Sep 2009 , 9:33pm
post #1 of 8

What kind of timeline do you use when decorating a larger tiered cake? Does it take you hours, days? I know alot depends on how intricate the design is.
What about fondant cakes? Can you start a cake one day and finish it the next? If so, how do you store it?

I'm a novice still, so please forgive the naive questions.

Andrea

7 replies
montanamommy Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 2:03pm
post #2 of 8

Really? Nobody can answer this question?

montanamommy Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 8:00pm
post #3 of 8

Perhaps I need to rephrase the question. I'm wondering about storage of a fondant cake. If it takes a couple of days to complete the cake, how should it be stored in the mean time? Can you just leave it out on the counter if its covered in fondant?

Thanks for any replies.

Andrea

June-n-Lucy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
June-n-Lucy Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 8:31pm
post #4 of 8

You can store a fondant covered cake (one that doesn't need to be refrigerated) for a couple of days at cool room temp. Although I would start to worry about it getting stale after a day or two.

Fondant does not do well refrigerated. It collects condensation and will look and feel moist.

I usually do my fondant work the day before, let the cake set that night and do the finishing work the day of.

Hope this helps!

DakotaDesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DakotaDesigns Posted 4 Sep 2009 , 8:51pm
post #5 of 8