Indiana Newbie With A Question

Business By Tina81980 Updated 1 Sep 2009 , 4:04pm by indydebi

Tina81980 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tina81980 Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 2:48pm
post #1 of 5

Hello everyone! I am completely new to this world of caking but extremely excited to learn all that I can. I recently began decorating cupcakes for family functions and it was mentioned that I should try an make a little extra money at it. I have read over the laws and understand that I can't sell from home. (I'm still learning so I am not ready for that kind of full-time selling anyway) My question however is this. I know it states that you can sell at farmers markets and roadside stands but the campground that we use is having a flea market this weekend where we can bring things to sell and I thought about making up a few cupcakes and gourmet apples to sell would this be ok or a big no no? Also I was just going to use box mix and frosting sold in stores for this small project as far as listing ingredients how would I do that? If I can't sell them. I may just make them up and give to friends since we (my husband, son, and myself) enjoy doing them.

Any feedback would be greatly appricated!
Tina

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 3:02pm
post #2 of 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tina81980

Hello everyone! I am completely new to this world of caking but extremely excited to learn all that I can. I recently began decorating cupcakes for family functions and it was mentioned that I should try an make a little extra money at it...
Any feedback would be greatly appricated!
Tina

Here's my thought. I'm gonna shoot real straight so fasten your seat blet.

Selling anything as a business is a planet on a completely different galaxy than producing a wonderful product. I think people are majorly and woefully ill advised to encourage people to go into business and sell things, especially food.