Suggestions For Shape Of Cake To Make For 250 People

Business By moscakes5 Updated 1 Sep 2009 , 6:36pm by leah_s

moscakes5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moscakes5 Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 4:37am
post #1 of 15

Hi and thanks in advance for your suggestons.

I have been asked to make a wedding cake to feed 250 people on a small budget. They said they could afford to pay less than$1.00 a slice although I have set my price at $2.00 a slice. While she is a close associate, I have suggested she look into a supermarket to provide such a large cake on a small budget with no luck of getting her to go in that direction.

So I am trying to work this and figured I can make a (2)12x18x2 sheet cakes and a two tier using a 12x2 and 6x2 round cake pans. This will give me enough cake for 250 people.

I have not drawn up her contract yet and am holding off with anticipation that her number of guest will go down. I am new to cake decorating, but have made and sold several cakes, but this is my first wedding cake.
The cake itself is a yellow butter cake with french vanilla buttercream icing, no torting, no filling...their request. The cake decorations will be my take on a cherry blossom cake using fondant cherry blossom (non-botanical).

I wanted to find out if anyone had alternative suggestions for I can accomplish this cake order and still make it look like a wedding cake and not just two sheet cakes on a table next to a stacked cake. Should I bother to display the sheet cakes? OR Just put the sheet cakes in the kitchen - kitchen cakes?

14 replies
karrotcurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karrotcurl Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 4:43am
post #2 of 15

IMHO, I think you are on track with doing the sheet cakes... DON'T display them though... I think that would look pretty tacky actually... I know it's tough to price for people you know, but the reality is that you are in this to make a profit... at least a little bit! Don't under cut yourself. It will really hurt you in the long run.