Cake Decorating Dilemma

Decorating By SweetDreams Updated 2 Sep 2009 , 1:14am by SweetDreams

SweetDreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SweetDreams Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 2:26am
post #1 of 9

Hi Everyone,

I am hoping someone may have some ideas/opinions to my dilemma that I am just not seeing.
I had been doing cakes as orders and family for 4 yrs and in the spring decided to give it up for a while due to the kids activities taking more and more of my time. I really do miss it! but do not know how to fit it in and not feel guilty about taking hours away from the kids to do it. Most cakes take me at least 4hours (start to finish) and up, depending on size. Most of the clients I had up until spring were not the kind that wanted to pay for what the cake was worth anyway (except for the weddings)so it was kind of nice to say I was not doing them anymore and now I have a fresh start if I do take on orders again.
I guess my dilemma is how do I get back into creating cakes again (mostly for the love of it and partly for the money) without it getting to the point where it is consuming too much time away from the kids and how do you determine who to say yes to and no to without hard feelings getting in the way.
Not sure of what options I have here besides to say maybe that I have decided to now only do wedding cakes or just cakes for family (which is not that often) or maybe do cakes through the free cakes for kids website.

Any opinions or ideas? It is hard to think outside the box when it is your own dilemma.

Thanks for the help!!

Angela

8 replies
sweet-thing Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet-thing Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 2:42am
post #2 of 9