Cookies & Cake, The Perfect Decorating Combo!

Baking By andpotts Updated 1 Sep 2009 , 12:09pm by JGMB

andpotts  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andpotts Posted 30 Aug 2009 , 7:42pm
post #1 of 9

I just did my largest cake to date a huge Gotham city/Batman birthday for the neighbors. But my biggest dilema, was how to make a bat signal that would stand up, stay sturdy at outdoor pool party and look like it belonged on top of a large cake next to batman. I was so stressed out, chocolate worked for the buildings because they were supposed to look wonky and cartoonish, colorflow/royal looked cool, but with such a large piece, they are often tempermental mediums & I'm no pro, but then a light came on, a giant cookie!!! It worked perfectly, I was just bursting with happiness, thank goodness I caught the cookie bug a while ago and have learned so much from all of you (handcut templets/NFSC/draw & Fill), cookies and cake are the perfect combo!!! Just had to share my happy dance, Andrea
sorry I can't get the pic to shrink enough for the post, it's in my photos though

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-photos-by-andpotts.html

8 replies
 coffeecake  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
coffeecake Posted 31 Aug 2009 , 7:42pm
post #2 of 9

Very cute ! coloring your cookie dough really made it work well.

mjk350  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjk350 Posted 31 Aug 2009 , 7:51pm
post #3 of 9

Looks awesome!!! You did a great job on it!!! thumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gif

luv2bake6  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 31 Aug 2009 , 11:31pm
post #4 of 9

OMG! That's amazing!!

dsilbern  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilbern Posted 31 Aug 2009 , 11:51pm
post #5 of 9

Holy bat signal cookie, Batman!

cylstrial  Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 1 Sep 2009 , 12:13am
post #6 of 9

Here's the link to your cake! It looks great by the way!!

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1449682