How Do I Fix This? Mixed Two Buttercream Recipes By Mistake

Decorating By imartsy Updated 29 Aug 2009 , 6:40pm by imartsy

imartsy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imartsy Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 4:45pm
post #1 of 4

So let me start by saying I am not good at math. If any mathematicians out there can easily solve this, please do.

I was trying to make buttercream.... for some reason I had part of it in my mind and was also trying to follow the recipe. Anyway, I ended up getting proportions mixed up. I was trying to make buttercream dream - well I got about half of that and about half of crusting buttercream. Here's the issue:

Buttercream Dream
* 1 stick unsalted
* 1 stick salted
* 1 cup of shortening

Crusting Buttercream
* 1 stick butter
* 1 1/2 cups shortening

Well what I did was put two sticks of butter and 1 1/2 cups shortening. I haven't gotten further than that... but I wasn't sure what to do. Can I salvage this at all? I know I may end up with some kind of combo to the recipes - but if I can at least make some kind of frosting out of it, I'm sure I could use it for something. I'd hate to throw all that butter and shortening away.

Thanks!

3 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 4:54pm
post #2 of 4

Nah--you're fine. I mean you can make buttercream from a jillion different ratios of fat to sugar to liquid.

I use Colette's formula--I use this buttercream to pipe decor--I ice with smbc--

Toss in the powdered sugar amounts for the Buttercream Dream --you're only off by a half cup of fat.

No worries--just keep going make it up a little--you're fine--just make it to the consistency you need.

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 4

you've got 2.5 cups of "fats" vs. the 2 cups total in either recipe ...

so that's 25% more fat than required.

so....add 25% more sugar.

both recipes call for 2lbs of PS -- so that means 2.5 lbs to keep the ratio