Icing Mini-Cakes

Decorating By tomsmom245 Updated 30 Aug 2009 , 5:19am by xstitcher

tomsmom245 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tomsmom245 Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 3:34am
post #1 of 16

I am in a nightmare! I need to make 20 mini-cakes (2.5 inches) iced in buttercream for Sunday. I have never done this before and I tried to ice one tonight. OMW! No matter how much I thinned the icing it would not stick. The cake was too crumbly. I cut the cake out with a cutter so there are no nice clean sides to start with.

Anyone out there that can give some tips?

15 replies
sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 3:53am
post #2 of 16

Have you tried doing a crumb-coat first to make all the crumbs stick to the cake instead of the icing?
That's the only thing I can think of.
Good luck

tomsmom245 Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 3:56am
post #3 of 16

I can't even get it to crumb coat. The icing just doesn't want to stick. I have never had this problem with any other cake I have done. My cake isn't dried out or overly moist, it's just crumbly from where I cut it. I just don't know what to do icon_cry.gif

prayerwarrior Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prayerwarrior Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 3:57am
post #4 of 16

Maybe if you crumb coat them using thin buttercream, set them under a fan to crust and then ice them. Just a thought, It works on cakes, maybe it would work on your mini's also

Jeff_Arnett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeff_Arnett Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 3:57am
post #5 of 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by emcm51

Have you tried doing a crumb-coat first to make all the crumbs stick to the cake instead of the icing?
That's the only thing I can think of.
Good luck

Use a cake bag with a #10-#12 round tip and pipe the icing up and down in a zig-zag on the sides and top, then run a spatula around to smooth.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 29 Aug 2009 , 3:57am
post #6 of 16