Making My First Topsy Turvy - Do I Have All This Right?

Decorating By Larkin121 Updated 25 Aug 2009 , 8:00pm by Larkin121

Larkin121 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Larkin121 Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 3:43pm
post #1 of 8

So I've read some tutorials, watched a youtube video... can you tell me if my plan below for making my first topsy turvy is good or if I'm missing something important or have something all wrong?

*Will use pound cake for easiest carving since it's my first try.

*Want to use 6" 8" 10" tiers... is that enough difference between tiers or should I be doing 6" 9" 12"?

*Was planning to use two 2" cakes for each tier but the tutorial I saw on youtube looks like there are 3 cakes per tier. Thoughts?

*Won't be able to refrigerate finished product, so can't use SMBC, will use WBH buttercream between layers and as crumb coat (no fruit filling to avoid sliding, yes?)

*Will carve the sides down to make it slightly skinnier at the bottom than the top... and then will cut the cake board afterward. Or do i cut it first and carve down to that size?

*Will use the method of cutting out a "hole" for the tier to sit on, then dowel through the middle.

Any words of wisdom before I attempt this? If I fail, it's no big deal because it's something I'm doing for free for my sister's Mad Hatter birthday party and it's only for like 12 people. (Although, my sister is not the type to let me live it down if it doesn't work... her friends will forgive me though!) icon_smile.gif

7 replies
tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 3:58pm
post #2 of 8

If you have time I recommend sugarshacks DVD "Total Topsy Turvy" www.sugaredproductions.com She'll guide you step by step through the whole process with no room for error.

tootie0809 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootie0809 Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 4:00pm
post #3 of 8