Cost Of Materials + Leftovers

Decorating By Caike Updated 27 Aug 2009 , 11:41am by cookiemama2

Caike Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caike Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 2:23pm
post #1 of 15

Hi All,

As a newbie I've been thinking about this post for a few days now and finally want to put it out there to see what kind of feedback I get. I find that the cost of my first fondant cake was a bit more than I had expected. Because it was my first cake I didn't want to experiment with too many recipes (making fondant, making buttercream, making batter, etc.) - was this my mistake? The pre-made things I purchased cost the following:

Wilton Fondant - $11.99
Wilton Buttercream Mix - $5.99
Piping Gel - $5.99

Would it be more cost effective to make all of it? Additionally, how do you deal with leftovers? For instance I have a few bits of fondant left and a majority of the piping gel. How do you store? Or can you?

Any information you guys can provide me would be great. I'd like to be as cost effective as possible so I don't run out my budget on making unnecessary cakes that only get 1/2 eaten (BF doesn't like sweets!).

Cheers,
Caike ^-^

14 replies
__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 2:26pm
post #2 of 15

Don't buy Wilton fondant for a cake that someone intends to eat. Also, it is the most expensive fondant, and the grossest tasting to boot. Making your own will save you a lot of money.

Piping gel stores in it's container, fondant is sealed in a ziplock for future (very near) use.

Search out some recipes in here. A lot of people start off making MMF (marshmallow) for their frist time, and graduate to MFF (Michele Foster)...good luck!

Caike Posted 25 Aug 2009 , 2:31pm
post #3 of 15