Learning To Make Gumpaste Flowers - Please Help!

Decorating By crazydoglady Updated 24 Aug 2009 , 6:33pm by Teekakes

crazydoglady Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 2:28pm
post #1 of 12

i'm very new to this and learning thru youtube and cc.

i'd really appreciate advice on learning to make daisies and roses

freeform, cutter or mold?
cutters - petal shape or full flower?
gum paste or modeling/pearl clay?

what is the best method for someone who is starting out?

11 replies
Bonnell Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 2:42pm
post #2 of 12

There is a great video on Youtube from Glenda Galvez on making daisies. With those you definitely need a cutter. I've only made them using gumpaste (actually I use fondant with a little Tylose mixed in - very easy to work with). There is also a great series by Tonedna on making roses - that one is a must to watch. She uses a round cutter but there are also some on there by people that do roses the free form method. You really just have to practice and see what works for you. Modeling chocolate is a medium that is more forgiving than gumpaste so you might want to try your roses with that first. When I first started making roses I used the rose cutter from Wilton (you have to snip between the petals to separate them a little more) and that was okay. I then purchased a set of rose cutters and I like those better. At this point I am making them petal-by-petal as Tonedna demonstrates in her video but I use the tear drip shaped cutters. Practice, practice, practice. I can't stress that enough. Good luck.

Teekakes Posted 24 Aug 2009 , 3:01pm
post #3 of 12