I Just Can't Do Buttercream Roses!!!

Decorating By SarahEvans Updated 24 Aug 2009 , 5:32am by cakes_are_fun

SarahEvans Posted 22 Aug 2009 , 11:23pm
post #1 of 26

I am fairly new to cake decorating so I am still learning and experimenting with a lot of things. I have seemed to been getting the hang of everything then, came along roses! I have tried and tried and tried and TRIED!!!! but I just can't get it. I think it may be I keep getting the frosting consistency not right but I have no idea. Any tips?????

25 replies
Misdawn Posted 22 Aug 2009 , 11:33pm
post #2 of 26

Getting the frosting consistency right is the hardest part! Have you tried adding a little piping gel to your buttercream too? My roses never worked right either until my Wilton instructor told me to try adding about a tablspn of piping gel to a single batch of Wilton buttercream recipe.

SarahEvans Posted 23 Aug 2009 , 1:19am
post #3 of 26

So what is the best type of buttercream to use? Like crusting buttercream or just a regular buttercream recipe??

kricket Posted 23 Aug 2009 , 1:31am
post #4 of 26

I never got the hang of piped roses either---and I took the Wilton classes over 17 years ago. I know it would be a good thing for me to learn, but honestly, I've never "needed" to know how. No bride has ever ordered them on her cake. They seem to either want gumpaste roses or fresh ones.

vickymacd Posted 23 Aug 2009 , 1:48am
post #5 of 26

I like the regular Wilton recipe. BUT, when making roses, I use only Crisco. With frostings, I use a combo of Crisco and butter.

SarahEvans Posted 23 Aug 2009 , 1:59am
post #6 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by vickymacd

I like the regular Wilton recipe. BUT, when making roses, I use only Crisco. With frostings, I use a combo of Crisco and butter.

Thanks for the tips! So you just completely omit butter...does this change the flavor much??

Jeff_Arnett Posted 23 Aug 2009 , 2:06am
post #7 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahEvans