How Much For Gumpaste Roses?

Decorating By rharris524 Updated 20 Aug 2009 , 7:34pm by MikeRowesHunny

rharris524 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rharris524 Posted 20 Aug 2009 , 3:50am
post #1 of 5

This is my first time doing gumpaste roses for sale (I've done them tons but just not for sale) I'm doing an 6 inch square cake and I'm guessing I need about 50 if them (for a border and for the top)...I'm fairly cheap, as it is the going rate around here...$2 for butter cream, $3 for (most) fondant to get an idea. I was thinking $1.00-1.50 each...does that sound right? I can crank them out pretty quickly assembly line fashion (about 5 minutes each probably)

4 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 20 Aug 2009 , 12:42pm
post #2 of 5

Here's a link to help you figure it out. If you go down the page a little bit you will see they are selling single roses. You get 28 for $36.99 (before shipping). So that's $1.32 each. And with shipping, it's probably going to take them up to $1.75 each.

So I think you are thinking the right amount $1.00 - $1.50.

http://www.globalsugarart.com/cat.php?cid=991

msmeg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msmeg Posted 20 Aug 2009 , 6:34pm
post #3 of 5

I would say it depends onyour skill level and the detail of the rose. why would a buttercream or fondant rose cost more? or is that the cost of serving on a cake?

Those sites that sell them problably pay some poor person in India $3 an hour to make those cheap roses my time is worth far more than $1 for one of my gumpaste roses.
Are you just selling the roses to a decorator or trying to figure how to price a cake? I am a little confused.

rharris524 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rharris524 Posted 20 Aug 2009 , 7:13pm
post #4 of 5