To Central Nj Bakers: Business Idea

Business By NJCakeDiva Updated 21 Aug 2009 , 4:47pm by PinkZiab

NJCakeDiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NJCakeDiva Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 8

Hello to my NJ CC members:

I am new to CC and have found alot of great information on this website icon_biggrin.gif . I see that there are alot of talented individuals and aspiring business owners. I was truly saddened icon_cry.gif to find out that in NJ it is not legal to operate a home based cake decorating business. So, I followed the information directed by many to call my local health department and get information on how to go about having a legal business. Well, here in Essex County you have to operate in a seperate commercial kitchen. This can be licensed and in the name of another local business/organization as long as the inspection is up to code. I was told that all I needed to do in this case is to get a food handlers license through a 3hr class at the local department of health (they are booked until October icon_cry.gif ).

I would like to take this route for now, but I'm not sure if the cost would be worth it (saw a posting for space that costs 1850 a month + utilities). I still have 2 full-time jobs (9-5 and the kids) so I can not use a space all day but would be willing to share.

My question(s) to all my nj bakers is 1.) Have any of you gotten this same information when researching this in NJ? 2.) Have any of you who are in the same area ever thought about sharing a commercial rental space to offset the rental amount?

Just thought I would put this out there and see what happens

7 replies
cakesweetiecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesweetiecake Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 7:26pm
post #2 of 8