How Long Can Smbc Be Left Out?

Decorating By sugarMomma Updated 19 Aug 2009 , 3:15pm by -K8memphis

sugarMomma Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 1:28am
post #1 of 15

I made SMBC to put under a fondant covered cake for a friend's birthday party. Due to a death of one of their friends, the party is cancelled or postponed indefinitely. Horrible circumstances, my prayers go out to them.

It is my first SMBC cake and I was wondering how long it will be ok at room temp, or can it be frozen and what would be the best way to thaw it? I haven't assembled it yet but they still want it and are thinking of either eating it within a couple of days of receiving it, or freezing it until an appropriate time. It will be on a fondant covered board also.

Would I be better off making AMBC for stability instead?

Thanks for your help!

14 replies
sugarMomma Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 2:15am
post #2 of 15

Or how do you store your fondant covered SMBC ice cakes...it's my first time making it and my friend asked me how to store it.

sugarMomma Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 5:39am
post #3 of 15

Anybody? Bueller?

Cocoby Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 6:29am
post #4 of 15

I don't know either ...but i will be reading this until someone who knows about this ...get us out of our doubt

CakeWhizz Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 6:57am
post #5 of 15

Hi there SugarMomma. I use SMBC a lot and ideally it should be kept refrigerated and it freezes very well. I am confident that you can leave a fondant covered cake with SMBC filling out at room temperature for up to 3 days, depending on how warm the room is of course. What I tend to do is to cover the cakes a day before delivery and keep them in the coolest part of the house or in a moisture free fridge at a very low setting. Hope this helps!

Cocoby Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 7:01am
post #6 of 15

THANKS A LOT FOR THE INFO! icon_smile.gif

CakeWhizz Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 7:05am
post #7 of 15