Do You Ever Get Tips From Customers?

Decorating By Ladiesofthehouse Updated 19 Aug 2009 , 3:14am by indydebi

Ladiesofthehouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladiesofthehouse Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 11:28pm
post #1 of 16

Just curious...when I delivered a baby shower cake this weekend they gave me a $20.00 tip. The last 3 cakes I delivered the customers gave me tips.

My husband and I own a Home Repair business and in 12 years of doing business (with very happy customers) we have never once gotten a tip. I was a sign painter before having kids and only once in 5 years do I remember getting a tip and I had to split that one with the person that was working with me.

Do you think it has something to do with the food business? I'm not complaining, LOL, just curious!

15 replies
bravoe06 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bravoe06 Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 12:03am
post #2 of 16

You just have very kind customers I usually quote a price and end up getting 10 or 20 dollars more just lucky icon_smile.gif Congrats to you that is asign they LOVE your cakes!

mommyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommyle Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 12:18am
post #3 of 16

Way to go! I thought you meant a TIP like "Gee, I think that you should do THIS differently"... To which I always respond "My tip to YOU is don't walk down stairs with your finger in your nose!"

Congrats!!!

Kandy4283 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kandy4283 Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 12:22am
post #4 of 16

Most of my customers do not tip me but there is one repeat customer that gives me about 10 dollars more everytime! I don't think that people think about it when they get a cake to be honest! When you go get your nails done, you automatically give them a tip or when you are at a resteraunt, but typically when yopu go pick up a birthday cake from a store or bakery, you don't leave them a tip! Some people just think differently!

Ladiesofthehouse Posted 19 Aug 2009 , 12:22am
post #5 of 16
Quote: