Does Indydebi's Bc Pipe Well?

Decorating By luminajd Updated 18 Aug 2009 , 7:45pm by Uniqueask

luminajd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luminajd Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 7:15pm
post #1 of 6

I am going to try Indydebi's BC recipe for the first time today for a cake I will be taking to my Wilton class. We will be piping clowns and flowers. Will this recipe pipe well? I am a newbie, can you give me exact measurements for good piping consistency?
Also, If I am going to fill a cake with this, does it still need a dam? If so, what should I add to this to make it thicker?
Thanks!
Jessica

5 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 7:20pm
post #2 of 6

It pipes well, but all I really pipe with it is shell borders and cupcake swirls. I always add 1/2 cup of liquid to it (flavored coffee creamer or often a blend of milk and rum or amaretto). I haven't tried making those scary clowns but I think the bodies are done with an open star tip, like the shell border, so I think it would work really nicely.

And you don't really need a dam when you fill a cake with Indydebi's BC, but I usually use a #12 tip and pipe a ring around the layer, with the same consistency that I'm using to fill and frost.

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 7:22pm
post #3 of 6

Yes it pipes well.

Exact - not possible as even the humidity can effect -- so just have to adjust on the spot

Dam's used when doing jelly, jam, fruit curd and other gooey fillings.

for just BC, no need to dam -- but do let it settle (ie let gravity have it's way with it to avoid the dread cake bulge (aka your cake ends up looking like it has a spare tire!)

to thicken any BC -- start with LESS liquid, in this case milk.

then to thin add liquid a teaspoon at a time until consistency you need is reached.

Always start with a stiff BC and thin to soft

DeeDelightful Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeeDelightful Posted 18 Aug 2009 , 7:24pm