Newbie Here! A Few Questions About Beginner Equipment

Decorating By Kaychell Updated 1 Jun 2010 , 5:58pm by tastyart

Kaychell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kaychell Posted 17 Aug 2009 , 7:07pm
post #1 of 13

Hello all! I'm new to cake decorating. I've made only 3 or 4 small cakes. I was wondering what the "must have" eqiupment is for a beginner doing recreational baking for now. I have signed up for a cake decorating class at the local vo-tech that starts next month, but I've been doing some practicing on my own with the help of this site! It's SO addictive!!!

12 replies
alidpayne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alidpayne Posted 17 Aug 2009 , 7:11pm
post #2 of 13

are you more interested in doing fondant or buttercream decorating? It will make a huge difference in what we suggest.

Kaychell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kaychell Posted 17 Aug 2009 , 7:17pm
post #3 of 13

Both, actually. I would like to get a good handle on both the buttercream and fondant. I'm having a much harder time with my buttercream than working with the fondant.

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 17 Aug 2009 , 7:41pm
post #4 of 13

Hmm.let's see...

Good bags,tips
spatulas
pans...I like the rounds and squares...
coloring sets..I recommend Americolor..Wilton are too hard to handle.

lillermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lillermom Posted 17 Aug 2009 , 9:06pm
post #5 of 13

my favorite products/items to have are:

Bake easy spray for my cake pans
angled icing knife
metal straight edge plaster blade (helps make buttercream super smooth!)
viva papertowels
good quality tips
pastry bags
tip brush cleaner

HAve fun!

Darthburn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Darthburn Posted 17 Aug 2009 , 9:18pm
post #6 of 13

A cake turntable to spin the cake around while you work on it. OMG it took me 3 years to get one and now I wish I'd have bought it first!

GL79 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GL79 Posted 17 Aug 2009 , 9:22pm
post #7 of 13