Please Help Me Confirm What I Did Wrong..

Decorating By SandiOh Updated 19 Aug 2009 , 5:01am by madgeowens

SandiOh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandiOh Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 20

Hello, I am a newbie...I made this cake for my daughters birthday, and as you can see from the photo, the bottom tier bulged so badly in the middle. I used nine dowels to support the next tier, but I might've cut them too short, also The cake was a brown sugar pound cake and the filling cream cheese frosting, that I probably used too much of....were these the fatal flaws?
LL

19 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 2:13pm
post #2 of 20

Wow what a beautiful cake! I love the color combination and the design.

As far as the bulge goes, maybe your filling broke through your icing dam. Did you use a nice thick butter cream to make your dam?

Also a good thing to do to avoid bulges is to torte, fill and crumbcoat and then allow the cake to "settle" or "rest" either over night or at least for a few hours with some slight weight on top......a hardcover book works well.

Then before covering with the fondant, you'll see if there are any bulges and you'll be able to fix them.

It's really a great cake though, I've had worse bulges.

HTH

Jayde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jayde Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 2:16pm
post #3 of 20

What a gorgeous cake!

I make sure and pipe a REALLY stiff BC dam around the edges, let your cake rest, and make double sure that your dowels are cut to the exact height of the cake.

I too have had worse bulges, but honesly it is hardly noticeable... Its a beautiful cake!

SandiOh Posted 16 Aug 2009 , 2:17pm
post #4 of 20