Turning Away Business

Business By buggus Updated 17 Aug 2009 , 12:50pm by candoo

buggus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
buggus Posted 15 Aug 2009 , 12:55am
post #1 of 14

I have a bit of a dilemma. I'm just starting out. I work a full-time job, as I'm not able to quit that and do my business full-time, nor so I have enough business to do so. I also have a toddler to care for when I'm not working. So, most of the jobs I'm committing to are usually weekends. I had someone request something for mid-week, but I can't get the time off, and I wouldn't have the time to do it even if I didn't take the time off. So, I had to turn it down. Isn't that bad?? Aren't I supposed to be taking anything and everything, just to get my name out there? I thought it may have been a bad move, but I have my life too. Advice?

13 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 15 Aug 2009 , 12:56am
post #2 of 14

Don't worry about turning business down, it just makes you look more
in-demand! thumbs_up.gif

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 15 Aug 2009 , 1:01am
post #3 of 14

You don't have to say you're busy with your other job, either...just say that your schedule is already full for that date, or that you're already booked icon_biggrin.gif

buggus Posted 15 Aug 2009 , 1:03am
post #4 of 14

I kind of made the mistake of saying I'm working my full-time job, but this is someone I went to school with, so it's not like someone I don't know. But, I don't want that sounding bad.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 15 Aug 2009 , 1:07am
post #5 of 14

Don't worry about it...I'm sure she understood and it didn't sound bad to her.

Just think of it as practice for when you're talking to a total stranger icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Aug 2009 , 1:42am
post #6 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggus