Decorating By sweetswedish Updated 14 Aug 2009 , 8:53pm by Doug

sweetswedish Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 8:02pm
post #1 of 3

This is my first time writing here, although I have been peeking in to the forum for the past month. And enjoyed every minute of it.

I am looking to buy a template for a 3D muscle car. Does anyone out there have a web site address where to buy them.

Before asking you this question.. I want you to know I have really tried hard to find one on my own. I appreciate your input. Thank you.

2 replies
Kiddiekakes Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 8:30pm
post #2 of 3

What do you mean a template? Are you meaning an actaul 3D Cakepan? I have never seen a specific one for a muscle car.Most decoraters carve their own from cake.

Welcome to CC!!!! thumbs_up.gif

Doug Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 8:53pm
post #3 of 3

why buy when you can make your own.

If you know one, a woodcarver or furniture maker can do a live demo of how to do this.

• first find a very good pic or drawing of the item that shows it "flat on" from one side (and for more complex shapes, get front, back, and top views too)

• then copy the out line to stiff cardboard (like a cakeboard) -- make 2 copies -- hint --- tape the two boards together and cut only once to get to matching templates -- you can even do this with a scroll/jig saw that has a very fine tooth finish grade wood cutting blade in it.

• Before proceeding also make alignment 2 alignment holes -- punch 2 holes all the way through each board using a skewer.

• put one template on either side of the block of cake and align them by running skewers through the two alignment holes.

• now, using a LONG knife that spans the full distance between the templates and "then some" -- at least 1", better yet 2" or more -- slowly cut the cake letting the templates guide the knife.

• remove templates and cut pieces of cake and you have the basic raw shape.