Help! Whit Spots On My Green Cake!

Decorating By lizzie84 Updated 15 Aug 2009 , 3:54am by TexasSugar

lizzie84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lizzie84 Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 4:10pm
post #1 of 6

Hello--Newbie here,

I mada cake last night and frosted one layer in a bright green (incredible hulk). When I opened the cake keeper this morning, there are small white dots in my frosting. I just need to know (soon) if there is something wrong with the fronsting or if it is ok to use. Is it a separation issue? I've never had this happen before, although to be honest, I almost always have used white to ice the cakes. It also happened to my dk grey layer. Can I still use this frosting or do I have to start over?

5 replies
tiggerjo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggerjo Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 4:26pm
post #2 of 6

Yes, you can still use the frosting. It has happened to me a few times. Some say it is from using salt or the brand of shortening. I had not used salt so that is not the reason.

lillermom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lillermom Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 4:56pm
post #3 of 6

I had this problem when my salt wasn't fully incorporated. The frosting is still good!

lizzie84 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lizzie84 Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 5:00pm
post #4 of 6

Thanks for the replies--i just refrosted with the same frosting and am hoping for the best. It is for my 5 year old nephew. He is easy to please! So I gather that you both think I need to blend the frosting more? Is that right? I will try that next time. The only things is when I mix too much I get so many air bubbles. But I guess those can be smoothed out. Easier than having white spots on your cake! Thanks again--Sorry about the typos earlier--I was freaked!

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 11:41pm
post #5 of 6

Cake keeper? I would stay away from those things. Those are good for keping the cake fresh once it's been cut into. Cakes gotta breathe.