White Streaks In Icing

Decorating By chicanos2g1 Updated 24 Aug 2005 , 4:48pm by SquirrellyCakes

chicanos2g1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chicanos2g1 Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:06pm
post #1 of 17

I made a regular batch of buttercream icing the same way I alway do it, but for some reason when I thinned it down I noticed white streaks in my icing. I am kind of new to cake decorating and wanted to know if anyone can tell me what is causing this

16 replies
thecakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakemaker Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:10pm
post #2 of 17

I've had this happen before too. I was wondering if it was old shortening. Did you use shortening or butter?

Debbie

mamafrogcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamafrogcakes Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:19pm
post #3 of 17

I have had this happen before...what type of recipe were you using? Did you sift your powdered sugar??

chicanos2g1 Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:28pm
post #4 of 17

I used both butter and crisco in the recipe. I also sifted the sugar. I was wondering if it was because I used water instead of milk when I thinned the icing down.

thecakemaker Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:30pm
post #5 of 17

I used all shortening. I can't imagine that it would be having used water instead of milk. Some people use all water. I've used both water and milk.

Debbie

ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:32pm
post #6 of 17

Maybe try mixing it a bit with your mixer to incorporate all the color and work the streaking out .. not sure if that'd work or not but it'd be worth a try.

cakemommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemommy Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:40pm
post #7 of 17

I have had this happen and I'm not sure what causes it either. I've wondered if my salt is completely dissolved in my liquid before I mix it in. I've also wondered if it is humidity. This may be a mystery that might never be solved.

Amy

thecakemaker Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 3:46pm
post #8 of 17