Sand Castle Cake...helppp

Decorating By kingamy1 Updated 17 Aug 2009 , 2:27pm by cncgirl00

kingamy1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kingamy1 Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 5:02pm
post #1 of 9

Okay I am very new at this and I have made so far ONE cake! HAHA! it turned out very cute and was not too troubling. any how I want to make my niece a sand castle cake for her beach birthday I was thinking of using MMF but I don't think it will hold up in the sept. heat and the beach does anyone have any suggestions of what I could use to achieve the sand castle look that might hold up? and also how should I make the towers? Thanks so much! God Bless!

8 replies
CakeMakar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMakar Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 5:12pm
post #2 of 9

It should do fine. I made a MMF cake that sat in the CA July heat at the beach and it was fine for a few hours.

NatalieMarie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NatalieMarie Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 5:49pm
post #3 of 9

Hi,

I haven't made this yet, but I bought the Planet Cake book the other day and they have instructions for making sand icing and they are as follows:

Mix 150g (5 1/2 oz) of royal icing and 70g (21/2 oz) of unrefined caster sugar (we also call it golden caster sugar in the UK). Mix in one drop of brown food colour at a time until you get a sand colour.
Apply the sand icing with a palette knife to your board or cake immediately as it will start drying quickly and become rock hard.

The best way to make the towers is to make them out of gumpaste. I roll out a thin strip and wrap it around my small rolling pin and let it dry. Once it is dry you will have perfect sturdy towers for your cake.

I hope this helps.

kingamy1 Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 5:57pm
post #4 of 9

you guys are AWESOME thank you soooo much!!!

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 9:02pm
post #5 of 9

I agree that fondant is probably the best for holding up in the heat.