Culinary Institute: Should I?

Business By Angela93 Updated 19 Aug 2009 , 7:40pm by Denelly666

Angela93 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angela93 Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 3:45pm
post #1 of 25

I've been doing cake decorating for about 10 months now. I LOVE IT! I've always loved baking and now that i've learned decorating, i'm having a ton of fun. I'm a stay at home mom and have put my education on hold until my kids are in school. (one just started kinder and the other still has 2 years with me). but i've been thinking a lot about a culinary institute! I would love to have my own cake shop/bakery some day so is the culinary institute the right place to start? has anyone gone to one before? I dont know a single person who has gone to any school of this type so if you have, please share your experience!

thanks!

24 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 1:30am
post #2 of 25

I know that PinkZiab and LeahS both have a culinary degree - so you might ask them.

I got a business degree and as such I didn't get a culinary degree. I'm no where near as good as Pink or Leahs, but I figure one day hopefully, I'll get there. =o) But I'm just going to continue learning on my own and through CC. I hope to have my own cake shop one day when my my son (and future child hit school age).

You have to make the best decision for you and your family! Good luck!

CakeForte Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeForte Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 4:01am
post #3 of 25

there is another thread on this from a few weeks ago. You have to do what you want, but I think the consensus was that it's super expensive and it doesn't teach you what you need to know about cake decorating and running a business. Cake skills are learned through practice and business skills are critical for your success.

PumpkinTart Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PumpkinTart Posted 14 Aug 2009 , 4:56am
post #4 of 25