What Makes The Cake Uneven?

Decorating By Sweetsbym Updated 5 Jul 2013 , 10:00pm by live laugh cake

Sweetsbym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweetsbym Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 3:27pm
post #1 of 15

Hi! icon_biggrin.gif I'm still learning the science of baking and for all the Pro's out there can you please help me with this one. What causes the cake to be uneven? I have already asked my mentor about how to prevent the cake from having a Dome and he said i should just lower the temp to 325 when baking. So i lowered the temp it didn't dome, but still its uneven. icon_confused.gif one side is higher than the other icon_sad.gif I hope someone can enlighten my very curious mind on this on. Thanks a lot icon_biggrin.gif

I'm Baked.
M

14 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 3:33pm
post #2 of 15

Hi there sweetsbymicon_smile.gif Nice to see another new face in our sweet corner of the internet.
Are you *sure* your oven is level? That is the most likely cause.....your floor or the oven it's self is not level.

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 3:40pm
post #3 of 15

An unlevel oven rack is my problem so I go ahead and let the cake dome so I can trim it till it's level. Works better for me and my family gets to eat the cake trimmings! LOL!

Sweetsbym Posted 13 Aug 2009 , 3:51pm
post #4 of 15

Hi kakeladi icon_biggrin.gif That also came up to my mind the first time i had baked this unleveled chocolate cake. but my theory of having unleveled floor was busted when i baked my first pound cake. the pound cake came out good, smooth, leveled no need for trimmings or leveling.

maybe there is something wrong with the recipe ratio? here's the recipe for the unleveled cake:

1 3/4 Cups APF
2 cups sugar
3/4 Cups Cocoa
1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1 1/2 tsp Baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/2 c veg. oil
1 cup choco chips
1 cup milk
1 cup boiling water

bake at 350. grease and flour pan.