Paint Choices? Kinda Confused.

Decorating By Trials_N_Error Updated 16 Aug 2009 , 6:29pm by xstitcher

Trials_N_Error Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Trials_N_Error Posted 12 Aug 2009 , 1:20pm
post #1 of 27

Hey all!
My name is Jay and I'm pretty new to the cake scene, but I am picking up on things pretty quick because of my history with art and sculpting. I searched around for this topic, but didnt really see anything that I was looking for. (Sorry if this has been answered before)

I volunteered to make a cake for a church young adult ministry. I actually just finished my pastoral internship with them. : ) Anyway It's for a grand re-opening of a building they just finished remodeling and they also have a new logo. I thought it would be cool to incorporate their new logo on the fondant but I am not familiar with the various types of "paints" that are available.

Question: What types of paint options do I have and what typically works best for hand painting detailed work?

I've heard people use the word "Americolor" (is this different than regular food coloring?) Also, "gel colors" and different types of "dusts" that can be mixed with vodka which have a paint consistency.

As far as dusts go, so far Ive heard people mention petal, pearl, luster, highlighter and disco.

Ive noticed that most dusts are glittery or shiny. However, the logo itself is not glittery or shiny but I guess it could be, if it had to be.

Thanks again.

Any help is very much appreciated!

26 replies
Clovers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Clovers Posted 12 Aug 2009 , 1:45pm
post #2 of 27

I'll take a stab at this, til the more seasoned CCers get here.