I Did My First Fondant Covered Cake!

Decorating By agentdorkfish Updated 10 Aug 2009 , 9:56pm by miny

agentdorkfish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
agentdorkfish Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 1:36am
post #1 of 15

That's right ladies and gentlemen. I finally gave it a try. It wasn't half bad, but it wasn't all that great either. I couldn't get the sides smooth enough. And it was a square cake, so I couldn't get the corners to cooperate. There were several creases. Any advice?

14 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 1:38am
post #2 of 15

Squares are harder to cover than rounds.

Here's a tutorial that a CC member made

" rel="nofollow">

agentdorkfish Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 2:01am
post #3 of 15

Ok, I decided to be brave and upload a picture for you guys to see. I'm pretty ashamed because it will be surrounded by such amazing works of art, but I'm a rookie and there's only one way to learn to be better: Practice and listen to great advice.

And thanks for the link! I'm going to watch it as soon as my dumb dial-up decides I can. :p

miny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miny Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 2:09am
post #4 of 15

I couldn't see your fondant cake only your BC work but I'll check back later, sometimes it takes a while to upload a pic

agentdorkfish Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 2:13am
post #5 of 15

I haven't long uploaded it. It shouldn't be too much longer until you can view it. I have to admit, I'm nervous! It's so horribly bad compared to all the other cakes on here!

agentdorkfish Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 4:17pm
post #6 of 15
Wesha Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wesha Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 5:50pm
post #7 of 15

You did great with your first fondant cake. The key is to practice. I am still not that great at it but I am going to continue to practice as well.

Happy Caking thumbs_up.gif

mindy1204 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mindy1204 Posted 10 Aug 2009 , 6:08pm
post #8 of 15