Home Baking Biz Question/advise - (In Massachusetts)

Business By meredith1851 Updated 11 Aug 2009 , 12:02am by Deb_

meredith1851 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meredith1851 Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 9:27pm
post #1 of 18

Hello,
After being laid off 6 months ago from the corproate grind, I have been following my passion of baking in all my free time. Many friends and my husband have supported my thoughts on maybe trying to kick start a new career in baking cookies and cupcakes etc. from home for friends, neighbors and family and see where it goes. I live in MA and am wondering if others out there know of any legal ramifications for operating out of my home kitchen when I am just getting started real small right now. Again, this is very early on and am just tinkering with the idea...my next door neighbor has 2 kids and she has been taste testing for me lately. She asked me to do a couple dozen cupcakes for Halloween, Christmas and Thanksgiving! I don't even know what is reasonable to charge as a newbie home baker. Any general advise on operating from home would be very much welcome. (I know there are books out there but sometimes hearing straight from the horses mouth can be more valuable...at east that is how I feel.)

Thanks icon_biggrin.gif

17 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 9:39pm
post #2 of 18

Hi from a fellow MA baker.

We are one of the few fortunate states that can have our home kitchens licensed.

I would recommend that you contact your local HD or Dept of Agriculture (depending on your county).

The process is pretty inexpensive since you'll just need to have your kitchen inspected, it's not like adding on an entire separate kitchen. Of course you'll want business insurance to protect your home/assets. My policy is under $200 a year.

Since it is legal in MA I recommend you go ahead and get the inspection, it's really pretty easy.

Good luck!

meredith1851 Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 9:49pm
post #3 of 18