Have Been Looked Down On For What You Do?

Decorating By DisneyDreamer Updated 11 Aug 2009 , 3:32am by CakeRx

SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 7:19am
post #31 of 53

I was an ER nurse for about 10 years and then I was a chemo nurse in a cancer clinic for 3 years. However, people on many occasions looked down on me for being a nurse. In both of those jobs, patients often cried, or screamed, or vomited, and sometimes they died. Friends and family members would say "Oh... Anna... I could NOT do what you do. It's just too hard." After a while, it became too hard for me too. I wanted to do something happy. So I quit nursing.

I have been making and decorating cakes for other people for a long time. My clients and their kids smile and laugh and are delighted by what I do for them. I have encouraged quite a few of my clients to take the Wilton Courses at Michael's or Hobby Lobby. Some have tried, but most have declined and said "Oh..Anna...I could never do what you do. It's just too hard!" It's all a matter of perspective and interest. Most of what I do is simple and easy. I'm a buttercream decorator, nothing really fancy schmancy about what I do. But no one has ever looked down on me for being a cake decorator. Not once.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 7:48am
post #32 of 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by adonisthegreek1

I hope your mother doesn't teach culinary then.

No, math.

Jen80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jen80 Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 8:28am
post #33 of 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisneyDreamer

anyone else feel like they are looked down on for "just" doing cakes?

Nope!! I love it so much that I don't care what anybody says or thinks.

If anyone did try that with me I'd be too busy thinking about my next design that I wouldn't notice. For me, at the moment, caking is all I think about.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 9:09am