Wasc - Quick Question

Decorating By susgene Updated 9 Aug 2009 , 10:33pm by kakeladi

susgene Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 1:06pm
post #1 of 9

First of all I am a total novice at baking...

I made the original WASC recipe on this site. LOVED IT and I will be using it a lot in the future.

A bride has asked for almond cake but I noticed in the WASC cake I couldn't taste the almond flavoring. Is this normal? Would a bride be wanting a distinct almond taste?

Thanks!

8 replies
kello Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 1:22pm
post #2 of 9

I love this recipe as well!! I find I do taste the Almond. It isn't over powering, but you can taste it. Did you ask anyone else if they could? Maybe try adding a tiny bit more almond flavor.

susgene Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 1:29pm
post #3 of 9

No one tasted the almond.

Maybe I'm just using the wrong almond flavoring. I think it was the Wilton Almond flavoring... would the Wilton brand be considered weak?

So I'll either double-up on the amount or try a different brand. What brand do you use?

And what is almond emulsion. Would this do better?

kello Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 12:21am
post #4 of 9

I've never tried the almond from Wilton. I've used the grocery store brand and Lorraine's.
I'm not sure what almond emulsion is.....sorry!

Rylan Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 2:11am
post #5 of 9

I've tried the Wilton one and I think it is too strong for my taste. I usually just use vanilla instead of Almond. Maybe you can add more of the almond extract so it tastes stronger.

xstitcher Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 5:27am
post #6 of 9

I would just add more almond. Are you using part vanilla, part almond and part butter? If so just reduce one of the other ones or replace them.

Also, have you or are you planning on doing a tasting? If so let the bride make the determination.

JaimeAnn Posted 9 Aug 2009 , 6:55am
post #7 of 9