Help, All The Experts

Decorating By sansony118 Updated 12 Aug 2009 , 9:45pm by jennicita

sansony118 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sansony118 Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 10:04am
post #1 of 8

Dear All,

Let me share my frustration with you and ask for your valuable advise.

I am an amateur and a beginner in cake making and decoration. I have a huge problem and I need every tiny help I can get.

Ever since I started decorating I used whipping cream, as buttercream in my country just tastes like butter and No on likes it on their cake.

The problem as I am sure you already know, it is almost impossibile to make roses with wipping cream as it doesn't hold the shape. So I just thought, maybe I can make a butter cream that tasts well and just kick up the flavor up to make the butter flavor disappear, and guess what I did, and it worked. the taste is reasonable ok.

BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTT, in my country we don't have " Crisco, Shortening, or margarine". The only types of fat other than oil we have in my country is butter and ghee, that's IT!!!!!

So, when I tried to make a butter cream, It was first tasty, just used butter, orange and vanilla extract, lemon and sugar. it tasted well, i put it in the refrigerator to use it the following day on my cake that was going to be covered with fondant. I took it from the refrigerator the following morning, but it turned really stiff, and the taste returned to very much butter and WHAT IS WORST THAN ALL, the sugar crystallized!!!!!! I still used it as the cake will be covered with fondant, but it doesnt taste well and it doesnt not help AT ALL in practicing basic decoration like making a smooth surface cake covered with butter cream, or making flowers and roses.

I need your help with alternatives, recipes or any advise that can help me producing a tasty manageable butter cream, or a stronger whipping cream for decoration.

P.S. I live in a Yemen.

7 replies
snocilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snocilla Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 10:24am