Ghidorah Cake For 3 Yr Old Need Input Please

Decorating By khrys Updated 8 Aug 2009 , 2:35am by khrys

khrys Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 9:22pm
post #1 of 8

Hi, I'm a CakeCentral newbie. I have made some shaped and sculpted cakes in the past for my children but am not a professional, much as I love it.

My son is turning 3 at the end of September and is asking for a Ghidorah cake. Ghidorah as in the three-headed, two tailed, two legged, gold plated dragon with gigantic wings from Godzilla. Yeah. That. icon_surprised.gif

So, I'm thinking of carving cake for the legs and body and tails. Using possibly modeling chocolate and gold lustre dust for the scales? (input please?) and I haven't a clue what to use to allow for the necks and heads.

Also, I'm very uncertain how to make this cake work from a support standpoint.

Any and all input is truly appreciated... even if that means "talk him into something else". icon_smile.gif

Thanks in advance!
LL
LL

7 replies
dutchy1971 Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 10:30pm
post #2 of 8

wow that is some challenge. Here's my 1st thought, how about a sheet cake carved into the shape a 2D effect? rather than 3D sculpted, fondant covered then painted with gold luster dust. You would be able to do the scales maybe by having small circles overlapping each other bottom to top before you paint.

HTH

diane Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 10:45pm
post #3 of 8

i'd use wire for the neck covered in either modeling chocolate or rice krispie treats. i saw something like this done on one of the cake shows and that's what they used. icon_wink.gif

khrys Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 12:01am
post #4 of 8

Hmmm.... wire and RKT...I hadn't considered that! Thanks, Diane... I'll have to ponder that one. I've been playing with modeling chocolate, but not with RKT, so I might have to practice that and see.