Edible Images On Fondant?

Decorating By lv14 Updated 8 Aug 2009 , 7:06pm by PhotoFrost

lv14 Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 5:37pm
post #1 of 10

I'm a complete newbie... but I was wondering can I put edible images on fondant? I have never worked w/ edible images before so that is why I'm asking...

9 replies
Mensch Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 5:42pm
post #2 of 10

I do it all the time!

lv14 Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 5:45pm
post #3 of 10

How do you do it? Need detailed instructions please icon_smile.gif. Thanks.

Mensch Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 5:53pm
post #4 of 10

I lay it on and smooth it out.

2SchnauzerLady Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 5:56pm
post #5 of 10

Mensch - do you dampen the fondant first? I've only done EI on buttercream before it crusted.

Bonavolonta Posted 7 Aug 2009 , 6:04pm
post #6 of 10

I paint a little water on my fondant before laying the image on. I'm not sure if you're supposed to - I just assumed I should. It's worked just fine so far. I've never tried doing it dry. Just make sure you do it last. One time i thought I could roll the fondant a bit thinner after I had applied the image. Not pretty! It cracked and tore.

lv14 Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 4:36pm
post #7 of 10

I have heard that you need to order/purchase the icing sheet right before the party; otherwise, the edible icing sheet will harden and won't work w/ you... can anyone send some input on that? Can you tell I've never worked w/ icing sheets before...?! lol.

I found a site that will sell me a Bakugan edible image... party's not scheduled til Aug. 22nd... so I'm trying to coordinate the best time to order it.

neelycharmed Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 4:54pm
post #8 of 10

Hi,
they will have the EI sent in a sealed bag so it won't dry out on you.
I order them all the time and keep a few in stock,
shouldn't be a problem at all.
and I usually brush the fondant with clear piping gel or a thin layer of buttercream to make it stick to the cake.
hope that helps.
Jodi

lv14 Posted 8 Aug 2009 , 5:17pm
post #9 of 10

thanks, Jodi!